NOTICE

Election of Officers 1995

A ballot for the election of President, Vice President, and three Directors for the AZALEA SOCIETY OF AMERICA is included as part of this issue. The term of these officers is two years.

The other officers and Directors are elected on alternate years.

Please mark the ballot and return it to:

Mr. Robert Stelloh 15241 Springfield Road Darnestown, MD 20874

The ballot must be received at the above address by May 1995. **PLEASE VOTE!** □

Prize for Best Article in THE AZALEAN—1994

In 1989, the Board of Governors authorized the editor of THE AZALEAN to establish an annual prize for the best article to appear in THE AZALEAN. The concept was to acquire through donations, a fund which when invested would provide an annual prize for the best article published in THE AZALEAN. Funds were donated by the following chapters to establish the "CHAPTER'S PRIZE":

Tri-State
Richmond Virginia
Ben Morrison
Northern Virginia
Brookside Gardens

As stated in the September 1990 issue, the best article each year will be selected by a poll of the membership. The prize will be announced and awarded at the Annual Meeting of the Society. The 1994 prize for best article in **THE AZALEAN** will be awarded at the 1995 Convention and Annual Meeting in Rockville, Maryland.

Past recipients of the prize are as follows:

1990 - Ajit Thakur

1991 - Jane Newman

1992 - Richard West

1993 - Robert Stelloh

Included in this issue as part of the ballot for election of officers is a ballot listing all of the articles published in 1993. Please mark your ballot and mail it to:

Mr. Robert Stelloh 15241 Springfield Road Darnestown MD, 20874

The ballot must be received at the above address by May 1, 1995! \Box

On the Cover: "Betty Ann Voss" Photographer: Donald H. Voss

Azalea Society of America

The Azalea Society of America, organized December 9, 1977 and incorporated in the District of Columbia, is an educational and scientific non-profit association devoted to the culture, propagation and appreciation of the series Azalea (subgenus Anthodendron) of the genus Rhododendron in the Heath family (Ericaceae).

OFFICERS FOR 1994-1995

President L. Malcolm Clark
Vice-President Stephen S. Brainerd
Secretary Bill McIntosh
Treasurer Glenn W. Taylor
Immediate
Past-President

L. Malcolm Clark
Riperion Clark
Represident

DIRECTORS

Terms Expiring in 1996 Terms Expiring in 1995

Carol Allen Rosalie Nachman
Tony Dove Fred Minch

Jeff Beasley

Chapter presidents serve as ex-officio directors.

CHAPTERS

Brookside Gardens (chartered August 1979) Carol Allen, *President*

Richmond, Virginia (chartered August 1979) Robert Clary, *President*

Ben Morrison (chartered May 1980)

Nuran Miller, President

Northern Virginia (chartered May 1980)

John Zottoli, President

Louisiana (chartered June 1981)

Roy Constantin, President

Tri-State (chartered October 1981)

Loren Gabe, President

Flame Azalea (chartered May 1984)

Dallas Chapter (chartered May 1989)

Jim Garrison, President

Oconee Chapter (chartered November 1991)

David Butler, President

Regular membership is open to all interested parties for an annual contribution of \$20.00. Life membership for an individual is \$300.00. Members receive **THE AZALEAN** and are eligible for participation in all activities of the Society including those of the chapter with which the member affiliates. For information and membership application, write to the Secretary, Azalea Society of America, P. O. Box 34536, West Bethesda, MD 20827-0536.